New OSCE Chairperson, Switzerland's Foreign Minister presented its priorities for 2014

30 April 2014

New OSCE Chairperson, Switzerland’s Foreign Minister presented its priorities for 2014.

20 jan 2014

The new OSCE Chairperson-in-Office, President of the Swiss Confederation and Head of Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland H.E. Mr. Didier Burkhalter, outlined the 2014 Swiss Chairmanship’s priorities to the OSCE Permanent Council on Thursday, 16 January in Vienna.

Switzerland took over the rotating Chairmanship of the Organisation on 1 January 2014 from Ukraine. During its Chairmanship Switzerland will work closely with Serbia, which will chair the OSCE in 2015.

The Swiss Chairmanship will work under the leitmotif ‘Create a Security Community for the Benefit of Everyone’ and focus on fostering security and stability, improving people’s lives, and strengthening the OSCE’s capacity to act. Chair-in-Office discussed the plans of the Swiss Chairmanship in the areas of conflict prevention and resolution and also explained the priorities in the human dimension, in addressing transnational threats and in engaging young people in the OSCE.

In response to the address by the Chair-in-Office several Permanent Representatives of participating States’, including the Permanent Representative of Mongolia to the OSCE have made statements congratulating the Chairmanship with assumption of the office. In his statement Ambassador Gunaajav Batjargal welcomed the consecutive OSCE Chairmanships joint work plan for 2014-2015 and the priorities presented by the Chair-in-Office and expressed Mongolia’s readiness to work closely with the Chair in 2014.

In their respective statements Permanent Representatives of the USA, Norway and Albania have expressed hope that under the Swiss Chairmanship the participating States’ will reach a consensus on the establishment of an OSCE presence in Ulaanbaatar in line with the request and the needs of the Government of Mongolia.

Add new comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.